So many people I know of have spoken about this very famous char koay teow. Supposedly one of the best char koay teow in the country! So, how can I not try it out, correct? The fact that I drive down to Pulau Pinang quite often makes it impossible for me to not eventually go to this place and try it out my self. In addition, I love char koay teow, particularly Penang char koay teow!

So, I went there with a whole bunch of people (my mom, 2 sisters, brother, aunt, cousin and cousin’s husband). Parking was a nightmare! Once the nightmare is over, another nightmare begins. The restaurant was packed. In fact it was a full house with no place to sit! However, we got lucky and did not have to wait too long to get tables. Yes we needed 2 tables, either the tables are small or there were too many of us… So, we ordered char koay teow for most of us and a couple of special char koay teow. It took almost forever for the food to come! We got sleepy and sort of ruined our appetite, but we tried to stay positive. Afterall, we heard good things about the char koay teow…

When the food finally arrive, to our surprise, the special char koay teow did not turn out to be what we expected. Ordinarily when we order special char koay teow, we will get extra prawns and cockle. Instead, the special char koay teow came with a sunny side up! Oh that is so not right! May not be wrong but it is not quite right… By the way, while we were waiting and thereafter eating, the crowd got bigger and people were actually standing and lining up in front of the restaurant!

Coming back to the famous Sg Dua char koay teow (so famous it has 2 branches at different locations!), I said to my brother, as he sat next to me, “Is it just me? Am I too particular about my food? Did I expect to much? Is it really true what people say about me having rather peculiar taste and preference for food?”… Too many questions that lead to only one answer from my brother, “Tak sedap sangat pun!”, which translates “Not very tasty/delicious!”. I was not sure whether I was right, that the char koay teow was not very tasty. However, everyone else had the same response! I was somewhat disappointed and I will give it 2.5/5. One more thing, the char koay teow came in such small plates that the dishes “fit in” just nicely in the plate, almost spilling out. My brother had to put his prawns in my plate (after I finish with my dish) to make space for the prawns in his plate…

